HB 633 by Rep. Jennifer Sullivan (R-Eustis) received final passage in the Florida House and Senate during the legislative session. The Senate companion bill was filed by Senator Anitere Flores (R-Miami). HB 633 was sent to Governor Rick Scott on May 27. The governor has until June 10 to either sign the bill or veto it, or he can let the measure become law without taking action. Please urge Governor Scott to sign this bill into law.
HB 633 provides a woman at least 24 hours to reflect on information about her unborn child and the risks of abortion before proceeding with the termination of her pregnancy. The bill also requires the physician providing the information to be physically present in the room with the patient. An exemption to the 24-hour reflection period is provided for a woman who presents a copy of a restraining order, police report, medical record, or other court order or documentation evidencing that she is a victim of rape, incest, domestic violence, or human trafficking.
Florida law does not currently provide time to reflect prior to making the irreversible decision to terminate a pregnancy, although one is required before: marriage (three days); dissolution of marriage (20 days); purchase of a handgun (three days); and cremation (48 hours).
Presently, 26 states require women to wait a specified period of time, between 18 and 72 hours, after mandated counseling before obtaining an abortion. These include the surrounding states of Georgia (24 hours) and Alabama (48 hours).
TAKE ACTION: Urge Governor Scott to sign HB 633 and make a 24-hour reflection period prior to an abortion the law in the state of Florida. The governor is already hearing from those who oppose the bill asking him to veto it. Please send your message today.
Click the link below to log in and send your message